World Music

Yorkston-Thorne-Khan (James Yorkston) - Yorkston-Thorne-Khan (James Yorkston)

Yorkston-Thorne-Khan - Everything Sacred Artist Yorkston-Thorne-Khan (James Yorkston)
Title Everything Sacred
Label Domino
Yorkston / Thorne / Khan are a new group that comprises James Yorkston, Suhail Yusuf Khan (award winning sarangi player and classical singer from New Delhi) and Jon Thorne, best known as jazz double bass player with electro outfit Lamb.

‘Everything Sacred’ was produced by the band and mixed by Dave Wrench.

The album covers the breadth of folk and traditional, featuring new arrangements of Ivor Cutler and Lal Waterson songs and a Sufi poem set to music, as well as original compositions from the band. Guesting on the album is Choice Music Prize album nominee Lisa O’Neill.

“Playing together as Yorkston / Thorne / Khan, we tackle a wide array of different sounds and songs. Alongside pieces of our own, there’s a fair chunk of improvisation, plus covers of Ivor Cutler’s ‘Little Black Buzzer’ and Lal Waterson’s ‘Song For Thirza’. Jon’s jazz back-ground definitely comes to the fore, as does Suhail’s devotional singing and outstanding sarangi playing. I just do my best to keep up…” - James Yorkston

LTD LP = Indies Exlusive Deluxe LP + Bonus 7" + MP3

+ Format: LTD LP
Price: £19.99

+ Format: CD
Price: £9.99

Page 1 of 1  Prev | Next
Forgotten Password?
Register with Spillers