Roots (Country, Folk, Americana)

James Yorkston - Neil Young

Yorkston, James - Folk Songs Artist James Yorkston
Title Folk Songs
Label Domino
+ Format: CD
Price: £8.99

+ Format: LP
Price: £12.99

Yorkston, James - Roaring The Gospel Artist James Yorkston
Title Roaring The Gospel
Label Domino
+ Format: CD
Price: £8.49

Yorkston-Thorne-Khan - Everything Sacred Artist Yorkston-Thorne-Khan (James Yorkston)
Title Everything Sacred
Label Domino
Yorkston / Thorne / Khan are a new group that comprises James Yorkston, Suhail Yusuf Khan (award winning sarangi player and classical singer from New Delhi) and Jon Thorne, best known as jazz double bass player with electro outfit Lamb.

‘Everything Sacred’ was produced by the band and mixed by Dave Wrench.

The album covers the breadth of folk and traditional, featuring new arrangements of Ivor Cutler and Lal Waterson songs and a Sufi poem set to music, as well as original compositions from the band. Guesting on the album is Choice Music Prize album nominee Lisa O’Neill.

“Playing together as Yorkston / Thorne / Khan, we tackle a wide array of different sounds and songs. Alongside pieces of our own, there’s a fair chunk of improvisation, plus covers of Ivor Cutler’s ‘Little Black Buzzer’ and Lal Waterson’s ‘Song For Thirza’. Jon’s jazz back-ground definitely comes to the fore, as does Suhail’s devotional singing and outstanding sarangi playing. I just do my best to keep up…” - James Yorkston

LTD LP = Indies Exlusive Deluxe LP + Bonus 7" + MP3

+ Format: LTD LP
Price: £19.99

+ Format: CD
Price: £9.99

Young, Neil - Bluenote Cafe Artist Neil Young
Title Bluenote Cafe
Label Warner Bros
This superb live 4-vinyl LP set documents one of Young’s most funky and heartfelt periods and features seven unreleased songs: “Soul of a Woman,” “Bad News Comes to Town,” Ain’t it the Truth,” “I’m Goin’,” “Crime of the Heart,” “Doghouse,” “Fool for Your Love,” and a searing 19+ minute version of the immortal “Tonight’s the Night” from The Pier in New York City.

The album collects various performances captured during Neil’s 1988 tour.


+ Format: 2CD
Price: £12.99

Young, Neil - Earth Artist Neil Young
Title Earth
Label Warner
Performances of songs from a range of Young’s albums, including last year’s The Monsanto Years, 1990’s Ragged Glory, and 1970’s After the Gold Rush. The audio was captured during Young’s 2015 tour with The Promise of the Real, fronted by Lukas Nelson (vocals/guitar) and Micah Nelson (guitar, vocals) - Willie Nelson’s sons. The tour Included Young performing solo and with the band for a full electric show.

A new take on some of Young’s most beloved songs,  EARTH features the live recordings, along with added musical overdubs, as well as sounds of the earth, such as city sounds like car horns, sounds of insects, and animal sounds from bears, birds, crickets, bees, horses, cows - creating a very strange, yet beautiful atmosphere.
+ Format: 2CD
Price: £10.99

+ Format: 3LP
Price: £27.99

Page 1 of 1  Prev | Next
Forgotten Password?
Register with Spillers